When everyone wants to give you their advice

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by AngularMomentum, Aug 27, 2017.

1. AngularMomentum

AngularMomentum Changui

I've been dancing salsa for a year now as a follow and I'd like to get some advice concerning dance socials.

I'm not the greatest dancer of all times. I'm still learning - it's no secret and I know it. But by learning I mean I spend on average 3h a week in a salsa class (= with instructors I chose, whose teaching style works for me, whose dancing skills and style I admire and aspire to).

I fell in love with salsa music and dance so in addition to classes I also enjoy social dancing. I had some extra time on my hands last couple of weeks so started going out regularly. But to be honest the amount of advise I started getting is really discouraging.

I don't mean situations when e.g. the lead sees I lost the beat for whatever reason and starts counting, I think it's helpful and I appreciate them trying to help me out. If someone I know tells me during the dance that they want to try/show me a new combination and briefly outlines what it is before, I think that's cool - hey we're friends.

The kind of things that really take away fun from social dances for me are:
    • Lead gives me feedback after every move/combination (even if it's positive, hearing "good job" 15 times during a song makes me feel like during an exam and it's hard to relax when you know someone is constantly evaluating your performance. Also do I really seem so clueless???)
    • Lead tells me to do moves I don't know how to do and/or don't want to do (I'm not big on body rolls - I don't think I do them well enough to show it off in public (I practice at home though). I don't want to do a body roll during a social and that's why I don't do them. Trying to lead it 3 times and following by a lecture what that lead was supposed to mean is basically telling me you think I'm dumb :/ )