Salsa remixes of popular songs

Discussion in 'Salsa Music' started by Salsabachataremix.com, Mar 16, 2017.

1. I am not allowed to post any links yet, but I recently started to mix my own salsa music, please check it out - salsabachataremix com (like my username)

Or just google these keywords and you will find the right page
    SALSA REMIX – Shape of You – Ed Sheeran

2. DaveReading

DaveReading Changui

Just the thought sends shivers down my spine.

3. DJ Yuca

DJ Yuca El Sabroso de Conguero

:eek::D

4. Marcos

Marcos Son

I don't know you'll find a very receptive group with many here.

I started hearing the first track on the web site "Shut Up and Dance - Walk The Moon", which was done in Bachata and I had enough. I'm unfamiliar with the original version of that song, and most of the songs in the website (I've been boycotting non-Latin US music for 10 years in what I call a, "voy a pedir pa' ti lo mismo que tu pa' mi" decision), so I don't know how it sounds, but the anglo style acoustic guitar play with a canned Bachata rhythm was a huge turn-off, they didn't seem connected.

Doing remixes of American songs into latin rhythms causes problems, specifically with salsa because the singing styles are mathematically different. It will sound "cruzado", or "off" to how it should be accentuated, thereby turning off a significant number of salsa fanatics. Even when done with the best of intentions by established artists within a great production ( "Ain't no Sunshine" by Alfredo Linares is a good example), they have a very different feel from how they do as soul, pop, r&b, etc. The song structure of salsa is also very different, the call and response montuno section where soneros show their chops is very hard to adapt to those songs, and the solution of skipping that section, which is essential to so many styles of Afro-Latin music will mean that you end up breaking many conventions.