New member of Salsa Forums here.

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by Doo Wop Mario, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Doo Wop Mario

Doo Wop Mario Changui

Hello everyone,

I'd like to introduce myself here since this is my first time posting. My name is Mario but most people know me as Doo Wop Mario. As the name suggests, I'm heavily into the 50's vocal harmony genre known as doo wop. In fact, I have been a part of the 1950's Rock and Roll lifestyle since 2000. If you're familiar with (or have attended) Viva Las Vegas Rockabilly Weekender or any local rockabilly shows, then you know what I'm talking about. For those of you not familiar with it, the weekender is similar to the Congresses the salsa community has, except it's all about the 50's from the cars to the clothing and to the bands. There are three main dances in what most people refer to as the "Rockabilly" scene (I refer to it as the Rock and Roll scene or 50's scene). They are the Jive, Bop and Stroll. The jive we dance is the European version of American swing. As the story goes, American GIs would swing dance during their stationing during WW2 and the Europeans soldiers asked them what that dance was called, to which GIs replied "jive". The European soldiers then went back to their camp and taught each other whatever they "picked up" from watching these GIs dancing. Hence, european jive was born.

Here's a clip of actual footage of europeans jiving back in the 50's. As you can see, it's not the American version of swing. Search the following on youtube. I am not allowed to post a link yet.
    Don LANG & His Frantic Five " Boy Meets Girl " !!!