Mainstream pop songs that can be used for salsa?

Discussion in 'Salsa Music' started by Tom G, Sep 25, 2013.

1. Tom G

Tom G Changui

I'm running a salsa workshop for absolute beginners and would love a list of popular main-stream songs (that non-salsa people will know) that aren't too fast, and have a very clear (8-count) beat.

Some I've found that work very well, are listed below.

Anybody have any other suggestions?

- Michael jackson - they don't care about us
    - Mary J Blige - family affair
    - Elvis vs JXL - a little less conversation

2. Smejmoon

Smejmoon El Sabroso de Conguero

3. premier

premier Shine Officer

Sh!t storm in 3....2....1.....go!

4. Chris F

Chris F Tumbao

Please don't play pop music. You are educating them and the basics of musicality are critical.

To give an example of what happens if you ignore it consider what I observe at the ballroom studio where I also take lessons. They are so used to dancing cha cha to boom boom boom pop music that the majority can not properly keep tempo with an actual latin cha cha/guajira/son montuno.

5. Salsa Student

Salsa Student Pattern Police

If you feel you absolutely must play music that first time salsa dancers would recognize, I would suggest at least using salsa covers. There are covers of Let It Be and I Want You Back that are pretty good, you'd probably have to slow the second one down though.

6. matty

matty Shine Officer

I believe it can be quite a mistake to underestimate your public and "dumb things down" too much.
    there is always that quiet person who has been around and actually knows more than you think. and my view is that is the person you should be aiming to please, while keeping it fun and accesible for everyone

I dont think its safe to second guess that people would go to a salsa class and NOT expect to, or want to hear Tropical Latin music, even if they may not know the music very well yet.