How to find the beats on Salsa?

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by granrey, Oct 2, 2008.

1. granrey

granrey Sonero

Hi guys,

Any suggestion on how to find the beats on Salsa?

I've been listening Salsa for the last 10 years as a hobby. As many people from my country (Dominican) we listen and sing salsas even though we might not dance it at all.

I dance Merengue and bachata pretty well (I've got pretty good reviews), but I have not been able to dance Salsa. I thought I knew how to dance Salsa until I tried one day and I simply got lost (8 years ago).

My pride was hurt that much that night that I did not try again even though I practiced on my own.

Recently, I decided to try again and researching on the internet I think I have found the main problems:

1) I did not know that there were beats and I cannot find them all. I think I can identify #1 and probably 5 but the rest I don't feel them at all. my counting is 1,2,3----5,6,7.

2) I also noticed that I dance "On 1" and I did not know that there was an style called "On 2". I think I can find a solution to this.

I do not live in Dominican anymore but I want to know the beats so I can try a salsa school.

I even try a salsamelizer tool but I still don't get it.

any ideas?

2. ShineGuy

ShineGuy Son Montuno

This DVD helped me:

http://www.godancemambo.com/shop

3. smiling28

smiling28 Moderator

Hi and welcome.

Counting music is a great tool. (look up Mike Bello).

Also, some basic classes anywhere should help.

Stay positive though, most of us on here had experiences that could have scarred/stopped us from learning/progressing. Just stay positive and keep trying no matter what and you will get there :)

Have fun!

4. dahvee

dahvee Sonero

Hola Grangrey!

Everytime someone ask this question I always recommend to this website...

http://www.salsa-merengue.co.uk/VidTutor/salsatwo/tutprogsal2.html

I think it is a great resource and it really helped me. Best of all its free so you have nothing to lose.