hopelessly addicted - newbie anxiety

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by ladyjazz, Jun 29, 2012.

1. ladyjazz

ladyjazz Changui

hi everyone, it's my first post and I hope to hear from you with any advice and tips you can offer a newbie.
    A few years ago I was invited to a salsa club by a new friend who is a great dancer. I on the other hand was an absolute beginner with no knowledge of how to dance salsa at all. The music was incredible and somehow I felt confident enough and ended up dancing for most of the night with a few partners. I tried to follow the best way I could and I was lucky to have danced with very nice partners.
    I went back a few more times as a complete newbie but following that my career and personal life made me take a long break from salsa.
    Fast forward a few years and I decided to re-visit the scene with proper instruction this time around. I have taken about 6 classes and 1 private so far and I never would have imagined just how difficult learning salsa really is.
    At this stage I would like to start going to a few socials and clubs to practice however, I am feeling a lot of beginners anxiety and fear that I will be rejected somehow (kind of hard on myself). :(

Any tips on how to overcome that initial anxiety and nerves? Advice for a newbie follower?

2. olamalam

olamalam El Sabroso de Conguero

welcome to SF ladyjazz :)

always focus on your own satisfaction (maybe its not the right word) on the dance floor, dont worry to make mistake etc. actually there is no mistake. we're just having fun, this is not an exam or competition. when your partners see you're having fun, they'll have fun eventually too. you can be a beginner or advanced, if you dont reflect that you're having fun, we (most of us) wont have fun.