Can eye contact during a dance make me a better dancer?

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by Nuyorican, Dec 14, 2016.

1. Nuyorican

Nuyorican Son Montuno

This Sunday I was dancing with another beginner and I was having trouble leading her. I’m also a beginner so I thought it was my lead (not clear? not enough resistance?)

I also noticed she would not look me in the eye while we were dancing.

A couple of songs later she then asks me to dance. I jokingly tell her “sure, but you gotta at least look at me when we dance”. We both laughed and started dancing. This time she immediately makes eye contact and holds it throughout the dance. The only time we lost eye contact was on a spin, turn or CBL.

But we quickly regained eye contact after every move.

I’ve never used eye contact this way and It. Was. Amazing.

Everything changed. It was like we both went up a level in ability. I was able to not only lead almost everything I knew on time and in rhythm but she followed like we were connected by a string (hard to explain – that’s what it felt like). No matter what I did or made up she followed.

You ever dance with someone where anytime you made a mistake it turns into something you didn’t plan but was able to pull off on time and keep the rhythm (even get a couple of smiles out of it)?

This was my first time and we both had a great dance.

2. terence

terence Maestro 'Descarga' Cachao

Simple answer ; Always explain to students that, there are 2 types of lead, Physical and, VISUAL..stress the last one..

3. Clearly it help to make you a better dancer. It creates a connection with your partners and make them feel they are dancing with a human being and not a robot.
    I will add also smile to the eye contact. It doesn't have to be the pageant/Miss universe fake kind of smile which will be creepy, but a smile that shows you are a nice person.

5. Live2dance

Live2dance Shine Officer